A Good Day for Chocolate.

So, today I offer you food.  Not hats or crafts or flea-market finds (though I do have some of those that I need to share), but instead….chocolate.  And what’s more, it’s a relatively healthy and surprisingly elegant-looking dessert.  I took a recipe that my mom got from a friend years ago and de-lactosed it.  I am supremely lactose- intolerant and sadly my oldest son follows in my footsteps. So, desserts that we can comfortably enjoy are nearly impossible to come by and almost alwasys have to be made at home.  The boys and I made this tonight, and they LOVED it.  They said it was the best thing they’d ever eaten and wanted to know if they could have it every night for the rest of their lives.  They are not a bit dramatic.

Chocolate Tortilla Torte

6 oz. Ghiradelli 60% Cocoa chocolate chips

2 C. (1 pint) plain Greek yogurt

3 T. powdered sugar

4 whole wheat tortillas

Melt the chocolate chips in the microwave. ( I started with 45 seconds, stirred, and then did another 10 seconds. ) Stir until completely melted.  Add 1 C. Greek yogurt and 1 T. powdered sugar.  Lay one tortilla flat on a plate and cover with 1/3 of the chocolate mixture.  Smooth it out evenly to the edges of the tortilla; then lay another tortilla on top of that.  Continue layering until the chocolate is gone and the 4th tortilla is on top.  Mix the remaining cup of yogurt with the remaining 2 T. powdered sugar.  Spread this mixture on top of the the tortillas and over the sides.  You can sprinkle cocoa or chocolate shavings on top.  (I recommend Springfield’s own Askinosie chocolate. It is AMAZING and my husband’s name is on the package of the Tanzanian one!)  Serve in SMALL pie-shaped slices.  For a party, it looks nice if you remove one slice before serving.

About oohlalids

I am a private piano teacher with a Master's degree in piano performance and a very full studio, but I have always loved hats and making beautiful things. In 2004, I bought a Vogue hat pattern and stayed up half the night making my first hat. I wasn't crazy about the results, but I was completely hooked on the process. Since then, I have made at least one hundred hats, most of my own design. I constantly tinker with shapes and materials, exploring different historical eras and objects from everyday life and nature for inspiration. In this blog, I plan to share my latest creations, insights and observations from my creative process, some of my adventures in decorating, remodeling and flea-marketing (yay!), and possibly a few tales about being a girly-girl in an otherwise all-boy household.

Leave a Reply

